University of South Carolina home page University of South Carolina logo Industrial Mathematics Institute
South Carolina's Flagship University
| | | | Staff Resources

Home

People

Projects

Visitors

Facilities

Sponsors

Scientific Advisory Board

Conferences

Popov Prize

Distinguished Lectures

Seminars

Technical Reports

Additional Resources

Contact
USC  THIS SITE

Seminars 2007

IMI Seminars for 2007

- General Seminars
- Number Theory Seminars
- Combinatorics Seminars
- Compressed Sensing Seminars
- Classical Analysis Seminars

General Seminars

Tuesday, February 13:
John Chrispell
Jason Howell
Clemson University
"Finite element approximation of partial differential equations using FreeFem++"
Monday, February 19:
Barbara Wohlmuth
Universität Stuttgart, Germany
"Nonconforming domain decomposition methods and applications in structural mechanics"
Monday, March 12:
Gitta Kutyniok
Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen, Germany
"Shearlets: Multiscale geometric analysis using a wavelet-based approach"
Thursday, May 3:
Francisco Blanco-Silva
Purdue University
"Function spaces via curvelet decompositions"
Friday, September 28:
Lee Jones
University of Massachusetts at Lowell
"Local minimax estimation and price prediction"
Wednesday, November 14:
Natalia Kopteva
University of Limerick, Ireland
"Maximum norm a posteriori error estimates for singularly perturbed differential equations"
Thursday, November 15:
Vladislav Babenko
Dnepropetrovsk National University
"On optimization of formulae for approximate integration on various classes of univariate and multivariate functions"
Friday, November 16:
John Spouge
National Center for Biotechnology Information
"The statistics of gapped sequence alignments"
Monday, November 26:
Jutta Bibowski
Colorado State University
"The conductivity problem as an inverse problem: the Calderon reconstruction and direct method"

Number Theory Seminars

Wednesday, January 24:
Chris Hall
University of Texas at Austin
"Families of Galois extensions with big groups"
Wednesday, January 31:
Nigel Boston
University of South Carolina
"Random Galois Groups"
Thursday, February 8:
Mihran Papikian
Stanford University
"Drinfeld modular varieties and the Weil-Deligne bound"
Wednesday, February 14:
Matt Boylan
University of South Carolina
"Half-integral weight modular form coefficients and special values of L-functions"
Wednesday, February 21:
Michael Filaseta
University of South Carolina
"Applications of Pade approximants to number theory, Part 1"
Wednesday, February 28:
Michael Filaseta
University of South Carolina
"Applications of Pade approximants to number theory, Part 2"
Friday, March 2:
Matt Darnall
University of Wisconsin at Madison
"Bounds on the Star Discrepancy in the Unit Square"
Wednesday, March 7:
Carrie Finch
Columbia College/Washington and Lee University
"Finite groups with exactly n elements of order n"
Wednesday, March 21:
Konstantin Oskolkov
University of South Carolina
"Quantum mechanics of Gauss' sums"
Wednesday, March 28:
Nigel Boston
University of South Carolina
"On the equation x4+m*x2*y2+y4=z2"
Wednesday, April 4:
Matt Boylan
University of South Carolina
"Non-vanishing of weakly holomorphic modular form coefficients modulo l and applications"
Wednesday, April 11:
Ognian Trifonov
University of South Carolina
"Covering Systems of the Integers, Part 1"
Thursday, April 19:
Alice Silverberg
University of California at Irvine
"Diffie-Hellman and beyond"
Thursday, September 6:
Matt Boylan
University of South Carolina
"Powers of Euler's infinite product"
Thursday, September 13:
Michael Filaseta
University of South Carolina
"A connection between the factorization of sparse polynomials and an elementary number theoretic problem"
Thursday, September 20:
Kevin James
Clemson University
"Average Frobenius distributions of elliptic curves"
Friday, September 28:
Elizabeth Jurisich
College of Charleston
"Modular functions and moonshine phenomena"
Thursday, October 4:
Frank Thorne
University of Wisconsin at Madison
"Maier matrices beyond Z"
Thursday, October 18:
Scott Ahlgren
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
"Rank generating functions as weakly holomorphic modular forms"
Thursday, November 1:
Ognian Trifonov
University of South Carolina
"Covering Systems of the Integers, Part 2"
Tuesday, November 6:
Samuel S. Gross
University of South Carolina
"Elementary proofs of the prime number theorem"
Thursday, November 15:
Amanda Folsom
University of Wisconsin at Madison
"Half-integral weight Maass form correspondences and vector valued forms"
Friday, December 7:
Jeff Lagarias
University of Michigan
"Hilbert's 18th Problem"

Combinatorics Seminars

Wednesday, January 31:
Josh Cooper
University of South Carolina
"Where Do Power Laws Come From: A Model-Free Etiology"
Wednesday, February 7:
Lincoln Lu
University of South Carolina
"Using Lovasz Local Lemma in the Space of Random Matchings"
Wednesday, February 14:
Attila Sali
Alfred Renyi Institute of Mathematics
"Color critical hypergraphs and forbidden configurations"
Wednesday, February 28:
Rigoberto Florez
University of South Carolina at Sumter
"A construction of a projective plane in algebraic matroids"
Wednesday, March 7:
Yi Zhao
Georgia State University
"Codegree problems for projective geometries"
Wednesday, March 21:
Drago Bokal
University of Waterloo, Canada
"Computing quadratic entropy in evolutionary trees"
Wednesday, April 4:
Attila Sali
Alfred Renyi Institute of Mathematics
"SPT (q,k,n-Codes)"
Wednesday, April 11:
Kelly Kross
University of South Carolina
"A symmetric chain decomposition for the necklace poset"
Monday, April 30:
Prasad Tetali
Georgia Institute of Technology
"A Near Optimal Bound for Pollard's Rho to Solve Discrete Log"
Wednesday, May 2:
Richard Anstee
University of British Columbia, Canada
"Some Error Theorems for Matchings"
Wednesday, September 5:
Éva Czabarka
University of South Carolina
"Minor crossing number and crossing number of graphs"
Wednesday, September 12:
Josh Cooper
University of South Carolina
"Discrete Stochastic Differentiation"
Wednesday, September 19:
Darren Narayan
Rochester Institute of Technology
"Maximum Minimal k-Rankings of Graphs"
Wednesday, September 26:
Lincoln Lu
University of South Carolina
"Explicit construction of small Folkman graphs"
Wednesday, October 3:
Gyula O. H. Katona
Alfred Renyi Institute of Mathematics
"Forbidden inclusion patterns in families of subsets"
Wednesday, October 24:
Daniel Gerbner
Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary
"Profile vectors in the lattice of subspaces"
Wednesday, October 31:
Yubo Zou
University of South Carolina
"Decycling Fibonacci Cubes"
Wednesday, November 7:
Jerrold Griggs
University of South Carolina
"Minimum Span Real Number Graph Labellings with Separation Conditions"
Wednesday, November 14:
Yubo Zou
University of South Carolina
"Decycling Cartesian Product of Cycles"

Compressed Sensing Seminars

Monday, September 17:
Vladimir Temlyakov
University of South Carolina
"New recent results of B. Kashin and V. Temlyakov"
Monday, September 24:
Pavel Zheltov
University of South Carolina
"Greedy algorithms in recovery of signals which are sparse with respect to incoherent dictionaries"
Monday, October 8:
Entao Liu
University of South Carolina
"Compressed sensing and best k-term approximation, part 1"
Monday, October 22:
Entao Liu
University of South Carolina
"Compressed sensing and best k-term approximation, part 2"
Monday, October 29:
Daniel Savu
University of South Carolina
"Some results on L1 minimization, Part 1"
Monday, November 5:
Daniel Savu
University of South Carolina
"Some results on L1 minimization, Part 2"
Monday, November 12:
Mingriu Yang
University of South Carolina
"Some results from the paper 'A simple proof of the restricted isometry property for random matrices' "
Monday, November 19:
Mingriu Yang
University of South Carolina
"Some results from the paper 'A simple proof of the restricted isometry property for random matrices' "
Monday, November 26:
Pavel Zheltov
University of South Carolina
"Recent results on greedy approximation in compressed sensing"
Monday, December 3:
Stephen Dilworth
University of South Carolina
"A short proof of the concentration inequality for a random projection"

Classical Analysis Seminars

Monday, February 12:
Goeff Diestel
University of South Carolina
"Understanding the Bilinear Hilbert Transform, Part 1"
Monday, February 26:
Goeff Diestel
University of South Carolina
"Understanding the Bilinear Hilbert Transform, Part 2"
Monday, March 19:
Manfred Stoll
University of South Carolina
"Some Remarks on Maximal Functions and Ap weights, Part 1"
Monday, March 26:
Manfred Stoll
University of South Carolina
"Some Remarks on Maximal Functions and Ap weights, Part 2"
Monday, April 2:
Robert Sharpley
University of South Carolina
"Littlewood-Paley theory, maximal operators and representations, Part 1"
Monday, April 9:
Robert Sharpley
University of South Carolina
"Littlewood-Paley theory, maximal operators and representations, Part 2"
Monday, April 23:
Goeff Diestel
University of South Carolina
"The Carleson-Hunt Theorem and the bilinear Hilbert transform"
Wednesday, September 12:
Pencho Petrushev
University of South Carolina
"Two-level-split Decomposition of Anisotropic Besov Spaces"
Wednesday, September 19:
Francisco Blanco-Silva
Purdue University
"Hilbert pairs of wavelets"
Wednesday, September 26:
Bojan Popov
Texas A & M University
"Hamilton-Jacobi equations and constrained L1 minimization"
Wednesday, October 3:
George Kyriazis
University of Cyprus
"Weighted spaces of distributions on the interval and ball"
Wednesday, October 10:
Kamen Ivanov
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
"Characterization of weighted approximations by the Post-Widder and Gamma operators"
Wednesday, October 24:
Pencho Petrushev
University of South Carolina
"Decomposition of spaces of distributions induced by Hermite expansions"
Wednesday, December 5:
Kamen Ivanov
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
Pencho Petrushev
University of South Carolina
"Fast needlet approximation and polynomial evaluation on the sphere"

 

Current Seminars

Document Actions
RETURN TO TOP
USC LINKS: DIRECTORY MAP EVENTS VIP
SITE INFORMATION