IMI Interdisciplinary Mathematics InstituteCollege of Arts and Sciences

2018 Seminars


Applied and Computational Mathematics Seminars

Fri Nov 30 , 2:15pm
Jiguang Sun
Michigan Technological University
Finite Element Methods for Eigenvalue Problems
Mon Nov 26 , 4pm
Shira Faigenbaum-Golovin
Tel Aviv University
Repairing and Denoising Scattered Data for the Reconstruction of Manifolds Embedded in High Dimensions
Fri Oct 12 , 2:15pm
Siran Li
Rice University, Houston/Centre de Recherches Mathematiques, Montreal
General Axially Symmetric Harmonic Maps
Fri Sep 21 , 2:15pm
Xucheng Meng
University of Macau
Efficient and High-Order Finite Volume Method for Steady Euler Equations
Fri Aug 31 , 2:15pm
Jianguo Huang
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
A robust finite element method for elastic vibration problems
Mon Apr 30 , 2:15pm
Andreas Veeser
Università degli Studi di Milano
Oscillation in a posteriori error estimation
Mon Apr 16 , 2:15pm
Xu Zhang
Mississippi State University
Recent advance of immersed finite element methods for interface problems
Mon Mar 26 , 2:15pm
Jingwei Hu
Purdue University
Asymptotic-preserving and positivity-preserving implicit-explicit schemes for the stiff BGK equation
Fri Mar 23 , 1:15pm
Yanxiang Zhao
George Washington University
Bubble Assemblies in Ternary Systems with Long Range Interaction
Mon Feb 26 , 2:15pm
Qin Li
University of Wisconsin-Madison
PDE compression — asymptotic preserving, numerical homogenization and randomized solvers
Mon Feb 19 , 2:15pm
Guosheng Fu
Brown University
H(div)-conforming HDG methods for the Brinkman equations
Fri Feb 02 , 1pm
Yihong Du
University of New England
Propagation, diffusion and free boundaries
Tue Jan 23 , 4:30pm
Rob Stevenson
University of Amsterdam
An optimal adaptive Fictitious Domain Method

Discrete/Combinatorics Seminars

Fri Nov 16 , 2:30pm
Inne Singgih
University of South Carolina
Bounding the Metric Dimension of a Graph
Fri Nov 09 , 2:30pm
Peter Gartland
University of South Carolina
A new Characterization of V-Posets
Fri Nov 02 , 2pm
Adam Gregory
Western Carolina university

Risto Atanasov
Western Carolina University

Keller Vandebogert
University of South Carolina

Patrick McFaddin
University of South Carolina

Todd Wittman
College of Charleston

Jesse Kass
University of South Carolina

Mohammed Ghomi
Georgia Tech
CMS and MAA State Dinner
Fri Oct 26 , 2:30pm
Linyuan Lincoln Lu
University of South Carolina
The maximum p-Spectral Radius of Hypergraphs with m Edges
Fri Oct 12 , 2:30pm
Rigoberto Florez
The Citadel
The strong divisibility property and the resultant of generalized Fibonacci polynomials
Fri Oct 05 , 2:30pm
Zhiyu Wang
University of South Carolina
Ramsey numbers of Berge-hypergraphs and related structures
Fri Sep 28 , 2:30pm
Lin Yixin
University of South Carolina
A rectangle tacking problem
Fri Sep 21 , 2:30pm
Joshua Thompson
University of South Carolina
The discharging method and r-hued coloring of sparse graphs
Fri Sep 14 , 2:30pm
Joshua Cooper
University of South Carolina
CANCELLED: A Generalization of the Harary-Sachs Theorem to Hypergraphs
Fri Sep 07 , 2:30pm
Gregory Clark
University of South Carolina
On the Computation of the Characteristic Polynomial of a Hypergraph
Fri Aug 31 , 2:30pm
László Székely
University of South Carolina
Using block designs in crossing number bounds
Fri Apr 27 , 2:30pm
Daphne Der-Fen Liu
California State University, Los Angeles
Density of Sequences with Forbidden Separations
Fri Apr 20 , 2:30pm
Erin Hanna
University of South Carolina
A Quest for Positive Definite Matrices in Finite Fields (a work in progress)
Mon Apr 16 , 4pm
Peter Dankelmann
University of Johannesburg
The Diameter of Graphs and Digraphs
Fri Apr 13 , 2:30pm
Christopher Edgar
University of South Carolina
Transfer Entropy in Continuous Time
Fri Apr 06 , 2:30pm
Jerrold R. Griggs
University of South Carolina
Spanning Trees with Many Leaves in Hypercubes
Mon Mar 26 , 4pm
Aaron Dutle
NASA Langley Research Center
Detecting Low Weight Circuits in Posemigroup Edge-Weighted Digraphs
Fri Mar 02 , 2:30pm
Hays Whitlatch
University of South Carolina
Do These Cholesky Roots Make My Matrix Look Fat?
Fri Feb 16 , 2:30pm
László Székely
University of South Carolina
An Algebraic Monte-Carlo Algorithm for the Partition Adjacency Matrix Realization Problem
Fri Feb 09 , 2:30pm
Inne Singgih
University of South Carolina
Vertex magic total labelings of 2-regular graphs
Fri Feb 02 , 2:30pm
Gregory Clark
University of South Carolina
A Combinatorial Description for the Coefficients of the Adjacency Characteristic Polynomial of a Hypergraph

BACK TO TOP

General Seminar

Wed Apr 25 , 4pm
Gerard Kerkyacharian
Université Paris VII, Laboratoire de Probabilités et Modèles aléatoires
Regularity spaces in a geometric framework. Examples and application to Gaussian processes and non-parametric statistical adaptive estimation.
Mon Apr 23 , 4pm
Dominique Picard
Université Paris VII, Laboratoire Probabilités et Modèles Aléatoires
Clustering high dimensional data with sparsity

BACK TO TOP

© Interdisciplinary Mathematics Institute | The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees | Webmaster
USC