IMI Interdisciplinary Mathematics InstituteCollege of Arts and Sciences

1999 Seminars


Applied and Computational Mathematics Seminars

Tue Sep 21 , 2:30pm
Pencho Petrushev
University of South Carolina
Adaptive approximation, multiresolution and digital elevation maps
Thu Sep 23 , 2pm
Christepher Bernard
Centre de Mathematiques Appliquees, Ecole Polytechnique, France
Wavelet Interpolation Networks
Mon Sep 27 , 3:30pm
Christepher Bernard
Centre de Mathematiques Appliquees, Ecole Polytechnique, France
Fast Optic Flow with Wavelets
Tue Nov 02 , 2pm
Vladimir Temlyakov
University of South Carolina

Ronald A. DeVore
Texas A&M University
Open Problems in Greedy Algorithm
Tue Nov 09 , 2pm
Konstantin I. Oskolkov
University of South Carolina
Gridge algorithms and adaptive quadratures

General Seminar

Thu Jan 28 , 3:30pm
Guergana Petrova
Texas A&M University
Transport Equations and Velocity Averages
Tue Feb 16 , 2:30pm
Rostom Getsadze
Tbilisi State University
On Lebesgue Functions of Uniformly Bounded Orthogonal Systems
Tue Feb 23 , 2:30pm
Borislav Bojanov
Sofia University, Bulgaria
Kolmogorov Type Inequalities on the Finite Interval
Tue Mar 02 , 6pm
Vitaly E. Maiorov
Technion, Israel
On the Optimality of Neural Network Approximation Using Relaxed Greedy Algorithms
Tue Mar 16
Vitaly E. Maiorov
Technion, Israel
On the Optimality of Neural Network Approximation Using Relaxed Greedy Algorithms
Thu Mar 18
Vitaly E. Maiorov
Technion, Israel
Pseudo-dimension and Lower Bounds in Nonlinear Approximation
Tue Apr 13
John Lavery
Army Research Office
Shape-preserving, Multiresolution, Piecewise Polynomial Geometric Modeling without Human Interaction
Tue Apr 20
Grigor Karagulyan
Steklov Mathematics Institute, Russia
On Some Estimates of Partial Sums of Fourier and Randon Fourier Series
Thu May 06
Bojan Popov
Vanderbilt University
Linear Transport Equations with Discontinuous Coefficients
Thu May 06
Guergana Petrova
Texas A&M University
Averaging Lemma
Fri May 07
Guergana Petrova
Texas A&M University
Averaging Lemma, part 2
Fri May 07
Bojan Popov
Vanderbilt University
Linear Transport Equations with Discontinuous Coefficients, Part 2
Mon May 10
Stephen Fenner
University of South Carolina
Quantum Mechanics and Information Security
Tue May 11
Karl Dilcher
Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia, Canada
Multiple zeta-sums via box splines
Thu May 13
Guergana Petrova
Texas A&M University
Averaging Lemma, part 3
Thu May 13
Bojan Popov
Vanderbilt University
Linear Transport Equations with Discontinuous Coefficients, Part 3
Mon May 17
Richard Baraniuk
Rice University
Title to be announced
Tue May 18
Peter G. Binev
University of South Carolina
Adaptive Refinement Methods for Elliptic PDEs
Wed May 26
Jim Sochacki
James Madison University
Picard Iteration and Differential Equations: A New Approach?
Tue Sep 07
Morten Nielsen
Aalborg University, Denmark
Size Properties of Wavelet Packets
Thu Sep 09
Alexander Petukhov
University of Georgia
Biorthogonal wavelet bases associated with recursive filters
Thu Sep 09
Robert C. Sharpley
University of South Carolina
Multiresolution and digital elevation maps
Tue Sep 14
Jungho Yoon
University of South Carolina
Approximation to Scattered Data by Radial Basis Function
Wed Sep 22 , 3:30pm
Stephen L. Lyons
Upstream Research Center, Mobil Technology Company
An Industrial R&D Perspective on Mathematical Challenges in the Energy Business
Tue Oct 05 , 2pm
Viktor I. Buslaev
Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, Russia
Some Remarks to the Poincare's theorem about recurrence equations
Tue Oct 05 , 2:30pm
Viktor I. Buslaev
Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, Russia
Some Applications of Poincare's theorem to the convergence of continued fractions
Thu Oct 07 , 2:30pm
Peter Oswald
International University of Bremen, Germany
Two Problems on Nonlinear Approximation with Haar Polynomials
Tue Oct 19 , 2pm
Remi Gribonval
University of South Carolina
Sound Signal Analysis with Matching Pursuit(s)
Thu Nov 04 , 2pm
Albert Cohen
Laboratoire Jacques-Louis Lions, Université Pierre et Marie Curie
Wavelets, Interpolation Spaces, and Applications
Tue Nov 16 , 2pm
Alexander Andrianov
University of South Carolina
Nonlinear Haar Approximation of Some Multivariate Classes of Functions
Tue Nov 16 , 3:30pm
Daniel Dix
University of South Carolina
Mathematical Models of Protein Folding

BACK TO TOP

© Interdisciplinary Mathematics Institute | The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees | Webmaster
USC