IMI Interdisciplinary Mathematics InstituteCollege of Arts and Sciences

2012 Seminars


Applied and Computational Mathematics Seminars

Tue Jan 31 , 3:40pm
Xiaofeng Yang
University of South Carolina
The dynamics of two phase complex fluids: drop formation/pinch-off
Mon Mar 12 , 3:30pm
Chuanbing Tang
University of South Carolina
Ordering Control of Self-Assembled Block Copolymers in Thin Films
Fri Apr 06 , 10:10am
Guang Lin
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Uncertainty Quantification & Multiscale Modeling for Physical and Biological Problems
Mon Apr 09 , 2:30pm
Hong Wang
University of South Carolina
A fast numerical method for fractional diffusion equation
Tue Apr 10 , 2pm
Zhiyong Zhao
Nankai University
The Partial Upwind Finite Element Scheme for Convection-Diffusion Problem and Its Adaptive Method
Tue Sep 18 , 2:30pm
Xinli Wang
University of South Carolina Upstate
Biased diffusion of Brownian particles confined by a periodic potential
Tue Sep 25 , 2:30pm
Mark Uline
University of South Carolina
Lipid Layers: From Fundamentals to Biosensor Applications
Tue Oct 02 , 2:30pm
Chen Li
University of South Carolina
Recent Work in Micro/Nano-scale Two-phase Heat Transfer
Tue Oct 09 , 2:30pm
Jinkyu Yang
University of South Carolina
Linear and Nonlinear Waves Formed in Granular Crystals and Their Engineering Applications
Tue Oct 16 , 2:30pm
Bihter Padak
University of South Carolina
Employing Modeling to Reduce the Environmental Impacts of Coal-based Electricity Generation
Tue Oct 23 , 2:30pm
Andreas Heyden
University of South Carolina
Understanding and Designing Heterogeneous Catalysts from First Principles
Tue Oct 30 , 2:30pm
Hao Tian
Beijing Computational Science Research Center
A preliminary study on fast solution methods for a nonlocal diffusion model
Mon Nov 12 , 2:30pm
Yi Jiang
Georgia State University
Cell-based, Multiscale Model of Angiogenesis
Tue Nov 20 , 2:30pm
Xingjian (Chris) Xue
University of South Carolina
Experimental and Modeling Studies of Solid Oxide Fuel Cells
Tue Nov 27 , 2:30pm
Qianlong Liu
University of South Carolina
Two numerical approaches for predictions of physical fields in complex geometries at local scales

Combinatorics Seminars

Mon Feb 27 , 3:50pm
Austin Mohr
University of South Carolina
Diamonds in the Rough (The Lovász Local Lemma)
Mon Mar 12 , 3:50pm
Austin Mohr
University of South Carolina
Quest for Negative Dependency Graphs
Fri Mar 16 , 3:30pm
Ryan Martin
Iowa State University
On diamond-free subposets of the Boolean lattice
Mon Mar 19 , 3:50pm
Hua Wang
Georgia Southern University
What else is new on subtrees of trees
Mon Mar 26 , 3:50pm
Linyuan Lincoln Lu
University of South Carolina
Ricci-flat graphs
Mon Apr 02 , 3:50pm
Jerrold R. Griggs
University of South Carolina
Searching for Diamonds
Mon Apr 09 , 3:50pm
Edward Boehnlein
University of South Carolina
Set Families with a Forbidden Induced Subposet
Mon Apr 23 , 3:50pm
Colton Magnant
Georgia Southern University
Partitions with prescribed distances
Tue Apr 24 , 2pm
David Collins
University of South Carolina
Consistent Hashing: an overview and some thoughts
Tue Apr 24 , 3pm
Bill Kay
University of South Carolina
The Algorithmic Local Lemma
Wed Sep 12 , 3:30pm
Linyuan Lincoln Lu
University of South Carolina
On crown-free families of subsets
Wed Sep 19 , 3:30pm
Linyuan Lincoln Lu
University of South Carolina
Turán Problems on Non-uniform Hypergraphs
Wed Sep 26 , 3:30pm
Aaron Dutle
NASA Langley Research Center
Graph Odometry
Thu Oct 04 , 1pm
Gyula Katona
Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Towards a structured Baranyai theorem
Wed Oct 10 , 3:30pm
László Székely
University of South Carolina
Threshold functions for distinct parts: revisiting Erdős-Lehner
Wed Oct 17 , 3:30pm
Éva Czabarka
University of South Carolina
The Convex Hull Method I.
Wed Oct 24 , 3:30pm
Éva Czabarka
University of South Carolina
The Convex Hull Method II.
Wed Oct 31 , 3:30pm
Andrew Dove
University of South Carolina
Hamiltonian Cycles and Symmetric Chains in Boolean Lattices
Wed Nov 07 , 3:30pm
Andrew Dove
University of South Carolina
Supersaturation in the Boolean Lattice
Wed Nov 14 , 3:30pm
Travis Johnston
University of Delaware
Turan Problems on Non-uniform Hypergraphs
Wed Dec 05 , 3:30pm
Cliff Gaddy
University of South Carolina
A Variant of the Hypergraph Removal Lemma

BACK TO TOP

General Seminar

Thu Feb 23 , 2:30pm
Shai Dekel
GE Global Research
Duals of Anisotropic Hardy Spaces
Thu Mar 29 , 2:30pm
Dominique Picard
Université Paris VII, Laboratoire Probabilités et Modèles Aléatoires
Grouping strategies for denoising
Mon Apr 02 , 2:30pm
Gerard Kerkyacharian
Université Paris VI et Université Paris VII, Laboratoire de Probabilités et Modèles aléatoires
From statistical estimation to well localized frames, via heat kernel
Mon Apr 16 , 3:30pm
Mark Alber
University of Notre Dame
Multiscale Modeling in Biology
Thu Apr 26 , 3:30pm
James Glimm
SUNY at Stony Brook
Mathematical Theories of Existence for 3D Conservation Laws and Stochastic Convergence
Mon Apr 30 , 3:30pm
Jie Shen
Purdue University
Fast Spectral Methods: Algorithms, Analysis and Applications
Tue May 08 , 2pm
Nicholas Zabaras
Cornell University
A Bayesian Framework for Uncertainty Quantification with High-Dimensional Data-Driven Inputs
Thu May 17 , 3:30pm
Max D. Gunzburger
Florida State University
A nonlocal vector calculus and the analysis and approximation of nonlocal models for diffusion and mechanics
Tue Nov 13 , 3:30pm
Todd Wittman
College of Charleston
Geospatial Image Fusion

BACK TO TOP

© Interdisciplinary Mathematics Institute | The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees | Webmaster
USC