IMI Interdisciplinary Mathematics InstituteCollege of Arts and Sciences

Popov Prize Description

Popov_Curves The Vasil A. Popov Prize was established in memory of the late Professor Vasil A. Popov of Bulgaria in recognition of his outstanding contributions to mathematics. The Prize was created in 1995 and has been maintained solely by contributions from his colleagues, friends, and those who support the existence of such a prize. The Prize recognizes distinguished research accomplishments in Approximation Theory and related areas of mathematics. Eligibility for the Prize is restricted to young mathematicians removed less than 6 years from their doctoral degree.

The Vasil A. Popov Prize, which consists of an engraved marble trophy and a cash award, is awarded every third year. The Prize is traditionally awarded at the International Conferences on Approximation Theory. The Vasil A. Popov Prize is good for Approximation Theory! It not only brings recognition to this field but also encourages young talented mathematicians into this area of research.

The First Prize in 1995 was awarded to Albert Cohen (Sorbonne Université); the Second Prize in 1998 to Arno Kuijlaars (Katholieke Universiteit in Leuven, Belgium); the Third Prize in 2001 to Emmanuel Candes (Cal Tech); the Fourth Prize in 2004 to Serguei Denissov (University of Wisconsin-Madison); the Fifth Prize in 2007 to Mauro Maggioni (Duke University); the Sixth Prize in 2010 to Joel A. Tropp (California Institute of Technology); the Seventh Prize in 2013 to Andriy Bondarenko (National Taras Shevchenko University of Kyiv); and the Eighth Prize in 2016 to Jean-Marie Mirebeau (CNRS, Université Paris-Sud). Please visit our Previous Winners page for details on these award winners.

In 2018, management of the Prize was transferred to Sorbonne University under the direction of Albert Cohen, Chair of the Selection Committee. The next Vasil A. Popov prize will be awarded in 2020 at the FoCM conference.

The Selection Committee for the Vasil A. Popov Prize consists of:

Emmanuel Candes (Stanford University),
Albert Cohen, Chair (Sorbonne Université),
Wolfgang Dahmen (University of South Carolina),
Karlheinz Gröchenig (Universität Wien),
Peter Oswald (Dresden),
Pencho Petrushev (University of South Carolina), and
Vilmos Totik (University of South Florida).

For more information or to donate to the Popov Prize, please visit the Sorbonne University website.

© Interdisciplinary Mathematics Institute | The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees | Webmaster